Title: Why eight EU Member States signed, but not yet ratified the Convention for Human Rights and Biomedicine
Authors: Goffin, Tom ×
Borry, Pascal
Dierickx, Kris
Nys, Herman #
Issue Date: May-2008
Publisher: Elsevier ireland ltd
Series Title: Health policy vol:86 issue:2-3 pages:222-233
Abstract: The European Convention on Human Rights and Biomedicine was adopted by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe on 19 November 1996 and opened for signature on 4 April 1997. At the moment 21 of the 33 countries that signed the Convention are EU Member States. Signing the Convention implies the obligation to put the Convention before the national Parliament within a reasonable period of time with a view to ratification. Eight of the 21 EU Member States - namely Finland, France, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Poland and Sweden - still have to complete the ratification. In this article the reasons why eight Member States have not yet ratified the Convention, but only signed it, are mapped and analyzed. Because of the concrete list of patient rights provided for in the Convention, we focus on the question whether the reasons for not ratifying are related to these patient rights provisions.
ISSN: 0168-8510
Publication status: published
KU Leuven publication type: IT
Appears in Collections:Interfaculty Centre for Biomedial Ethics and Law
× corresponding author
# (joint) last author

Files in This Item:
File Status SizeFormat
IT025-2008-Health-Policy.pdf Published 148KbAdobe PDFView/Open


All items in Lirias are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved.

© Web of science